Cactus (Day 122)

By: photographicyear

May 07 2011

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments

Aperture:f/4.5
Focal Length:12.831mm
Shutter:1/20 sec

This is one of the cactus’s that I’m very proud to say I have grown and nurtured from seed. I think they have been growing for about 10 years, and for the past 4 or 5 have been flowering. There is this one which is a lovely pink, then a similar one on a different cactus in white and a third one that is completely different it is quite a big sort of orangey/red flower. I will have to photograph them later in the year, but the light had changed so the last one was closing up for the night!

2 comments on “Cactus (Day 122)”

  1. Flowering cactus from seed?! That’s awesome! I just bought some seeds and am going to give it a go. I have a 7 year old saguaro cactus from seed and its about a size of a cherry.
    I can’t wait to try to germinate my new seeds 🙂 Hopefully my little guys will flower at some point in its life too.

    • Yes I know I must admit I’m quite proud, my sister also had some seeds at the same time and hers didn’t even get started! I did feed my seeds a special cactus formula to begin with so I don’t know if that helped them at all. From what i remember as well they took quite a long time to germinate and appear above the soil so just have patience and hopefully you will get some 🙂


Leave a Reply

