Slimbridge (Day 193)

By: photographicyear

Jul 12 2011

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/6.3
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:NIKON D3100

I recieved my University results today, and I will graduate with First class honours. I am so pleased. To celebrate, my Granny and I went to Slimbridge for the day. It is a Wildfowl and Wetlands centre and is home to a vast array of different birds. It was a really great day.
We saw so many fantastic birds all with wonderful markings and variety of different beaks and calls. From the common UK ducks and Moorhen, to the more exotic Nenes (Hawaiian Geese).
We went a few years ago, and were lucky enough (after patiently waiting for some time) to see a Kingfisher. However this time even after waiting for ages we didn’t see a Kingfisher.

I’ve only included a few of the photos from the day but these are some of my favourites.

Firstly a Greater Flamingo on the left and a Swan Goose on the right. The swan goose has a much longer neck than other geese which I think is its’ most swan-like attribute.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

Then we have below left a Black Swan and on the right a Mute Swan

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below on the left is a Nenes and I’m not sure what the little guy on the right was, but he was very intrigued by the sound of the shutter on my camera.

 

 

 

 

And finally we have an otter!!! There was a pair of them. They were firstly playing the water together and then they climbed out onto a rock a preened each other. It was wonderful to watch and I had never seen an otter before so it was the highlight of my day.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

